My Objectives

Since my youth, I have been engaged in politics, serving as a class representative, grade representative and school representative. It was important to me not only to complain, but to do something to better the situation. I discovered my political stance during a time when Germany and Europe were divided. At this time a heated debate had broken out, if we should deploy more atomic missiles in the former Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany) as a reaction to SS-20 missiles of the Soviet Union – a policy which Helmut Schmidt and the CDU supported.

The motto of the CDU was to “create peace with fewer weapons”. Less than ten years later it was shown that the CDU was right. The Berlin Wall fell, Germany was once again unified and the division of Europe was overcome. What else I liked about the CDU was that there were neither egoists, individualists (like in the FDP) nor people, who said everything has to be controlled by collective responsibility and by the state (like in the SPD).

Subsidiarity and solidarity, freedom and responsibility… Those have been the guiding principles of the CDU and me personally.

I am grateful that I could assist in shaping the future of my country on that basis as city councilor, member of state parliament (Landtag), mayor, minister and in different functions within the CDU. And I will continue to do this also in the future as a member of the German Parliament (Bundestag).

Meine Ziele

Schon in jungen Jahren habe ich mich engagiert: als Klassensprecher, Stufensprecher und Schülersprecher. Ich fand es immer wichtig, nicht nur zu meckern, sondern mitzumachen. Politisch geprägt wurde ich in einer Zeit, als Deutschland und Europa noch geteilt waren und ein heftiger Streit darüber entbrannte, ob wir in der damaligen Bundesrepublik – wie von Helmut Schmidt und der CDU gewollt – weitere Atomraketen gegen die SS-20-Raketen der UdSSR aufstellen sollten.

“Frieden schaffen mit immer weniger Waffen” war das Motto der CDU – und keine zehn Jahre später sollte sie Recht bekommen: die Mauer fiel, Deutschland konnte wiedervereinigt werden, die europäische Spaltung war überwunden. Und noch etwas gefiel mir an der Union: dort hatten weder die Egoisten und die Individualisten (wie in der FDP) das Sagen, noch sollte alles das Kollektiv und der Staat regeln (wie in der SPD).

Subsidiarität und Solidarität, Freiheit und Verantwortung – das sind bis heute die Leitsätze der CDU und auch für mich persönlich.

Ich bin dankbar dafür, dass ich auf diesem Fundament in den vergangenen Jahren mitgestalten durfte: als Stadtverordneter, Landtagsabgeordneter, Oberbürgermeister, Minister und in unterschiedlichen Funktionen in der CDU. Als Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages will ich das auch in Zukunft weiter tun.